Valashiya's Blog

April 22, 2010

The Quick Python Book

Last week, I ordered a copy of The Quick Python Book. As a Python developer I’ve bought a number of technical books over the years and was very excited to play around with the latest Python 3000 ‘cus it’s still hot of the oven. So, I did what any self-respecting hacker would do and ordered a copy of The Quick Python Book hoping to see what the fuzz was about.

However, I was very disappointed after a few chapters and decided to immediately put the book back on sale on Amazon Marketplace. In my years of reading and using technical books, I’ve never seen something this woeful and unfocused.  The author was supposed to be a professor at a university somewhere in the US, but I’m afraid he failed as a teacher to use the book to teach something as expressive, elegant and simple.

I mean, this book is so bad that one of my favourite sites has also posted a similar sentiment on their site as well, warning unsuspecting beginners not to bother buying it. I feel cheated having spent my hard-earned money on this book and if I could ask for a refund I would; plus the time spent reading useless chapters. This goes to show that it makes very good sense to research a book, or any other product online before placing an order. If I had seen the review here, I would not have bothered.

So, I thought I would post this here in case some else finds it useful. It’s also worth mentioning that this is my own opinion and should not make your decision based on it – I can’t tell you what to do. It’s entirely up to you to make up your own mind.

That said, I would suggest you are better off spending time on the official Python documentation – it is more up to-date and contains lots of examples and code snippets you could just copy and paste in your terminal. When you are ready, ask around and see which books people recommend, read reviews and see if that helps before buying another book.

Good luck!

3 Comments »

  1. SwissGear Wired Laptop Backpack – Great Pack for the Professional!…

    I travel a LOT for my job and basically have to carry my office on my back. I’ve gone through numerous backpacks and none really fit the bill…till now. I had noticed that a lot of my work peers were using various backpacks from Swiss Gear and all lo…

    Trackback by Money, Blogging and Java — April 22, 2010 @ 2:57 pm | Reply

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Python UK. Python UK said: The Quick Python Book « Valashiya's Blog http://bit.ly/9dU2sl […]

    Pingback by Tweets that mention The Quick Python Book « Valashiya's Blog -- Topsy.com — April 23, 2010 @ 2:19 pm | Reply

  3. I too checked the out at my local bookshop on the way home from work and was not very impressed. That said, I don’t think the book was meant for beginners, but rather it was written for seasoned Python developers looking to move on to Python 3.

    Although the book lacked a great deal of technical content, I also believe there are those who would disagree with your review and declare it a good material.

    I also agree with you that beginners should not buy it. There are much better books out there for starters and this is definitely not one of them.

    Nice review btw and I hope others find it useful as much as I have.

    Comment by Helen Dangote — April 24, 2010 @ 8:27 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment